Blarney Castle

**This post was written on my old blog and I copied it over to here and made small edits**

2014

The scene from our rest stop at a petrol station

I took a day trip the day after I got to Dublin so that I could see Blarney Castle. The day trip consisted of Cobh (Cove), Cork, and Blarney Castle and was run through Paddy Tours. These areas are located about 2.5 – 3 hours away from Dublin, but the scenery was so beautiful, I didn’t mind and definitely encouraged me to return back to Ireland so that I can see more of this beautiful countryside.

 

Cobh

Cobh was the last port of call for the Titanic, as well as the departure pont for Irish immigrants to America. They had a Titanic Museum, but we were only allotted an hour here, so I just walked to the top of a hill and wen
t into St. Colman’s Cathedral.
I had made friends with a small group of Americans on the bus ride over, so I wandered to the top of the hill with them. When we got inside, there was a group of children practicing for their First Communion. They didn’t seem to be bothered by us wandering around while they were practicing singing.
Cork
 
There was not much to do in Cork other than shop, but it was such a cute little town and we had lunch in the English Market. There were so many choices, but I settled on a sandwich and finished with ice cream. Again, we were only slotted an hour here to explore, so I could be wrong that there was nothing to do other than shop, so I believe that I need to return to Cork to give it another chance.

Main Road in Cork and English Market

Blarney Castle
Blarney Castle was STUNNING. We were allotted 2 hours here, but I think I needed half an hour more. I kissed the Blarney Stone. The experience was great and I’m glad I did it, but it was totally not what I expected and was really anti-climactic. I think that it is an activity that every tourist should do once, even though the thought of it is kind of gross and it is very cliche.
The ground of Blarney Castle were so beautiful and I was lucky enough to visit on a clear, summer day. It did not rain and there were not too many people there. I was able to see most of the grounds, even in those 2 hours given to us. The views from the top of the castle were breathtaking.

 

 

 

The Blarney trip was one of my favorite parts of my time in Ireland. I think if I return to Ireland, I want to spend more time in the countryside, because it is so beautiful and so luscious. I’m not sure that I have ever seen grasses so green or skies with such picture-like clouds, but Ireland is one of the places I have been that looks just like it does in the postcard.

Leave Your Thoughts

